The Perennial Diamond Sutra

Well before the internet, analogue links were my primary mode of discovery. That’s how the Diamond Sutra came in, when I followed a text link after reading an article about R.D.Laing in a magazine. A few years after his big Politics of Experience hit the world, the article was a “where is he now” review. He was, according to them, studying the Diamond Sutra with a group of friends. Link. I searched out and found a copy, the Shambala publication “The Diamond Sutra and the Sutra of Hui Neng”. I didn’t have a clue about it at all, but read it faithfully. Then re-read it, one section a day. Then copied it out, a section a day. Over the years I copied it a few times, and later gave these little manuscript-books away. I still have that original Shambala book, and from time to time I go back to it, section by section. It’s good to remember that life is just a bubble in the stream, a cloud in the sky.

Leave a Reply

