Psychedelic Artifact

The embroidered coat.

embroidered-coat-detail-sun.jpg

Here are a few pics of my old old embroidered coat that has returned to my closet after a long journey in other people’s homes. Needing a warmer winter coat, I completely covered a my fall coat (green poodlecloth if you must know) with freeform crewel embroidery. I really loved wearing it at the time, but now I look back and think it must have been quite outrageous. But then … those were outrageous times.

Detail of the crewel embroidery

embroidered coat detail

Front of the coat

embroidered-coatfront-panel.jpg

Back of the coat

embroidered-coatback-panel.jpg

2 thoughts on “Psychedelic Artifact

  1. Carol – this is a work of art – I’m SO glad you got it back and photographed it, even if you never wear it again. If either of us ever gets around to organizing (or joining) a stitch and bitch group, I’d love to learn how to do crewel embroidery. Um, just make sure to remind me to bring my reading glasses with me though? In the last year I’ve discovered I can’t thread a needle without ’em – and to think how I laughed so cruelly when my parents used to wake me up in the middle of the night to get me to thread a needle for them as they pulled all-nighters trying to get my skating costumes done. Sorry, Mom. Sorry, Dad.

  2. Wow, I want to wear this coat now! I’m an artist/painter and designer and was looking for inspiration for embellishing a coat with crewel designs. I never dreamed of covering the entire surface. Did you wear the coat during the creation process? I imagine I would always having a needle and thread in a pocket. Very inspiring, I’m not afraid of color as you may see on my artsite. http://www.artistdeb.com Deb

Leave a Reply

