Sharing Darjeeling

Time to share the Darjeeling Goomtee 2nd Flush! I took some of the tea from the coop tea swap over to Rosie’s place – and we brewed this delightful “champagne of teas” in her pretty yellow teapot. We drank it with milk and a little sugar, sitting and talking on the couch while her kids did crafts with sparkles and glue.

It was delicious, and we both had second cups, of course. It is difficult to extract the experience of the flavour of the tea from the pleasure of the conversation. And why bother to separate them? Sharing the tasting of tea is a beautiful combination of both.

I was brought up making tea parties for friends, pets and dolls, and the enjoyment of tea was considered a shared experience. Now, as I’m really getting involved with tea, I also find myself  privately and personally tasting the tea as a substance itself, then flashing back into the relationship that tea encourages.

Goomtee Estate is above the plains of India. The second flush, picked in May and June,  is lighter, with a flavor complexity.

5 thoughts on “Sharing Darjeeling

  1. “Strange how a teapot can represent at the same time the comforts of solitude and the pleasures of company”.

    This was the third listing when I googled “tea quotes”.

    Interesting …. oui?

  2. I am a tea newbie and just starting to learn about tea. The darjeeling you shared with your friend sounds interesting. How can I get my hands on some?

  3. Goomtee is one of my fav and I specially liked their teas from the Muscatel Valley region. Great to know that you could sip in the Goomtee. They produce some great Darjeeling teas. Good Day!

Leave a Reply

