Oolong Tea House in Calgary

Visiting my mum while she was in Calgary’s Foothills Hospital, I ventured down Memorial Drive to the great Kensington area.

Oolong Tea House

My destination #1 was the Oolong Tea House, which has free parking in the back, a little outdoor seating area and a wireless connection.

On my first visit there, I recorded this little video:

The Oolong became my place to go away from the hospital for an hour.  I’d meet up with James via iChat, taste another calming herbal concoction, and have a good video chat.

Here we are video-chatting from the Oolong Teahouse in Calgary to Vancouver.
Here’s a still of my screen as we were  video-chatting from the Oolong Teahouse in Calgary to Vancouver.

At first I felt the place was a little uncared for – the dark green paint on the wall has pockmarks, it was not really pristine if you know what I mean. But that soon translated as “relaxed” to me, and the pockmarks on the walls were because of art being shown there over time. This is a loose tea house, easy to stay in for a long time. Many people set up with laptops and macbooks tapping away, good music playing and a great location. Made me think of Portland.

Oh, they also sell their teas and blends online. Thank you Oolong Tea House for giving me space, tea and wireless!

Leave a Reply

