Loose Tea Freedom with the Libre Tea Glass

Wendy Weir came by with her Libre Tea glass last month, and left two with me to try. One, all glass, and the other, a little lighter, with a polyproylene exterior and glass interior. I took the poly one and have been using it non-stop for three weeks now. It’s fantastic and I can’t imagine living without it now!

Here’s video of Wendy introducing me to the tea glass:

I took the tea glass on my last trip to Calgary, visiting my mum in the Foothills Hospital. It was so good to be able to bring my favourite teas with me, and to sip loose tea through the day, instead of buying the hospital fare. It was a comfort to have something of my own along with me while there, and kept me steady with the ritual of tea, and my own choices. I particularly enjoyed the sweet Oolongs I had brought with me from Aura Teas. No paper or styro cups (and no disrepect to you, Red Rose!)

Mornings I’d fill the tea glass with tea from the morning teapot, and sip that as we drove in to the hospital. Later in the morning I took a good break – boiling water in the ward kitchen, filling my tea glass and watching the oolong leaves unfurl. I looked forward to refilling the glass for several infusions through the day. This tea glass was a good companion!

After about a week of this regular routine, I noticed that the poly outside of the teaglass was micro-scratched from being jammed in and out of my bag. Also there is a little staining now on the plastic frame for the strainer as I didn’t ever wash the tea glass, only rinsed it out. One real drawback happened when I turned the tea glass upside down to infuse the leaves. More than once I found it slightly leaking – maybe I didn’t screw the top on tightly enough. But these minor glitches aren’t important: I’m totally bonded to my Libre tea glass. As they say, “Don’t leave home without it.”

After the hospital visit, I went up to Edmonton to join James who had just completed his Strathearn Mural. We were in a hotel, and there the tea glass proved to be extremely useful. I took it to breakfast each morning, with my own Kusmi Troika tea, and then later switched to oolong in the afternoon. I also tried it with some lovely Japanese green tea a friend had just brought back from a trip to China. No perceptible taste accumulation from one tea to the other, but I wouldn’t want to use the tea glass for coffee too. The glass is fine, but the plastic around the sieve insert does take on taste slightly, I’m sure.

I found I really enjoyed the way certain teas brewed in the tea glass tasted, so I’ve also been using it at home for my oolongs.

If my comments on the tea glass seem a little subdued, this is not because of the product – only due to my own circumstances. After writing this post I’ll be selecting teas to take with me to the hospice, as I go to be with my mum.

And just like the past few weeks, I’ll bring the tea glass in my handbag for tea wherever I may be. A cup of tea reflects all parts of life – we use it for celebrations, pick-me-ups, communications, comforts, reflections, happiness, sorrows, hopes and fears. This tea glass is part of my life now and I’ll be taking it on a very significant journey.

3 thoughts on “Loose Tea Freedom with the Libre Tea Glass

  1. Libre is honoured to be a part of your journey with your mom and so glad you are enjoying having ti with you.
    Having your own teas, i too find comforting and with the glass interior and all that room for the leaves it does make a good cuppa’.
    i wish you peace and love and as you stay by your mom’s side.
    thanks ever so much to take time to write up a review – a lovely one – one of the best to show the real value of travelling with the Libre.
    tea moments can be so comforting and meaningful on the road of life.
    best wishes
    wendy

  2. Loved your post. I can totally relate about wanting to take your favorite tea on the road, esp when spending the day in hospice! Sounds like a great cup. My very best to you and your Mom…

  3. This is a heartwarming story about how you stay close to your tea during these trying visits of your mother in the hospital. I can relate. I wouldn’t want to be stuck with what the hospital offered for tea if I was there for more than just one odd visit. If there were any extended time I needed to spend there I’d be in dire need of a travel glass like the one you’re describing here.

Leave a Reply

