Grannie’s Silver Tea Serves Again!

Hi Ho, Silver!
This family silver tea service was a staple at the teas my grannie held with the Canmore women of the St. Michael’s Anglican church group. It had been a 25th wedding anniversary gift from my grandfather, back in the 1920s or 30s.

silver tea

When my mum passed away, I was given the family silver, which had become very tarnished over the years. Reliving happy memories of polishing the silver tea set with my mum and Grannie, I sat down to clean the silver with my own grandkids, Ember and Cora. When it was all finished, and we saw our reflections in every piece, we made a tender little tea party, and the kids lined up their stuffed animals and dolls to join in.

ember polishes teapotHere Ember is shining the teapot. A big responsibility, but appropriate for the eldest. She handled the large teapot, which is the queen of the lot, and many of the fancy trays.

cora and silver creamCora looked after the shining of the silver cream pitcher and sugar bowl.

Spectacular shining silver. I put on the kettle and we made an occasion. It was teatime! We laid out tea on the table after selecting tea snacks, simple little treats that we cut into bite-sized bits and placed on the newly cleaned silver trays. We selected which of mum’s tea cups we would drink our tea from, choosing the flower images and colours.

We were elegant ladies. As I poured them “Fairy tea”, we connected sweetly with the present memories of my mother and my grandmother.

How to make Fairy Tea (for children)

  • Make black tea as usual in your normal teapot
  • Half-fill the child’s cup with milk from the cream pitcher
  • Add tea
  • Stir in 2 full teaspoons of sugar from the sugar bowl

(I know, sugar sugar sugar, but remember this is an old Edwardian recipe!)

5 thoughts on “Grannie’s Silver Tea Serves Again!

  1. Vicki sent me this comment directly, for posting here:
    Carol’s grannie was also my grannie and,though she didn’t live with
    us,we were graced with many a happy visit.Grannie had the softest skin and I used to love it when she washed me,gently enfolding my little hands in hers,more”love” than “scrub”! A very gentle British
    lady, sharing “fairy tea” with her was both an honour and a perfect fit.

  2. Hi Carol….that was a very beautiful story and I don’t know how you got that silver to look so wonderful….I would say hard work….but you were never afraid of a challenge nor lacking in patience….unlike me. Maybe having Ember and Cora to share it with makes a big difference too! Lots of Love, Roberta

  3. What a beautiful way to carry on the tradition. One of the few things I inherited from my paternal grandmother were the silver bottom parts of Russian-style tea cups. I wonder how I would find or get glass inserts made to fit?
    I must dig them out, start polishing, and throw a tea party for my nieces and nephews… how inspiring.

  4. Fairy Tea! What a precious name. I’ve recently acquired a sterling silver teapot and I also bought a couple sterling goblets to go with it. It greatly enhances the flavor of most of the teas I’ve tried in it so far. It’s even better than I’d heard about when I decided to make the switch. –Teaternity

Leave a Reply

