My New Favourite: Yixing Tea Cup

At a recent tea show, I picked up this super Yixing cup as a sample from the elegant display at TrYeh. This cup has now become my absolute favourite for drinking my morning black tea. I find that the included clay filter cup has holes that are often too large for my tea leaves, not filtering as much as I’d like, but if I’d decided to dedicate it to green or oolong then perhaps it might work better. Who cares? It feels great and I’m now in relationship with it, seasoning it further with every steeping!

555
At TrYeh they say: Yixing is considered by connoisseurs to be the best way to drink tea. Made from a red clay found in the Jiangsu province of China, these cups “season,” which means they take on the flavor of your favorite tea to enhance every cup. But for that reason, they should only be used for one type of tea (white, green, oolong, black, herbal) for the best possible cup. And you’ll be delighted by the delicious taste of your tea after seasoning your Yixing tea cup.

2 thoughts on “My New Favourite: Yixing Tea Cup

  1. In India roadside chai is served in conical mud cups that give tea an added earthy flavor. You have to hold the cup one finger on the rim and the other on the bottom (the sides are too hot: traditional chai is cooked in a double boiler and served blistering hot!). Have you tried Assam Tea? Black Tea. Very strong. High buzz. My blog has more on Assam Tea, if you are interested. Great post BTW. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

